Kyle Kirkwood 2019 Indy Pro 2000 Champion

Kyle Kirkwood is the 2019 IndyPro 2000 Champion

by The Earl of Indy, Robert Earl |

As race two of the weekend at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca approached on Sunday, points leader Kyle Kirkwood knew that he just had to start the last race of the season to claim the 2019 title. He had built enough of a cushion over his nearest competitor, Rasmus Lindh that he has a level of security entering the race. Good thing that he did.

Kirkwood was involved in an accident on the opening corner, taking his out of the final race of the season.

But by that point, the Season Championship was his. Kirkwood clinched the Indy Pro 2000 Championship Presented by Cooper Tires and a scholarship valued at almost $600,000 to advance one step on the Road to Indy to Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires in 2020.

We wanted to end the season with a bang, get into double-digit victories and take eight in a row, but the championship was the main goal. That?s all that matters now. We?re over the moon, the race is minute compared to that. But I can?t thank the RP Motorsports team enough, they?ve been flawless since Road America. The car has just been on rails. The only times we haven?t won were because we got crashed out. To walk away with this title means so much. I don?t know if I would have believed it possible before Road America, so many things had to go right. But Juncos was outstanding as well. Rasmus has been on the podium in almost every race; we needed every one of those wins

Kyle Kirkwood
(#28 Mazda/Firstex Industries/Bell Helmets/Sabelt-RP Motorsports USA Tatuus PM-18)

Indy Lights in 2020

While still celebrating the victory, it is not unreasonable to ask about what 2020 has in store for the champion. Kirkwood responded.

Honestly, I haven?t given a thought to next year yet. It will probably start to sink in tomorrow night at the banquet, but right now we?re going to enjoy this moment with the team.

Kyle Kirkwood

While current Indy Lights Champion Oliver Askew won the USF2000 title, he finished second to Rinus VeeKay in Indy Pro 2000 in 2018. Kirkwood has a chance to claim all 3 titles in succession.

With the right team, this is very possible for this up and coming Dreamer and Talent.

Congratulations Kyle Kirkwood and RP Motorsport USA. A deserving Champion and team.

Free Shipping on Ryders Eyewear Sunglasses