Sting Ray Robb - Pole Winner Laguna Seca

Indy Pro 2000 Laguna Seca Fast Friday

by The Earl of Indy, Robert Earl |

After two weeks of anticipation, the Indy Pro 2000 series took to the 2.238 mile Laguna Seca circuit and the Fast Friday action did not disappoint.

Entering the weekend, the main focus is on the championship battle between Kyle Kirkwood (382 Points) and Rasmus Lindh (362 Points).

Kirkwood 382 vs. Lindh 362

But during practice, they were not the only ones making headlines. Drivers turned a total of 257 laps as they got used to a new track for the Indy Pro 2000 drivers.

Parker Thompson of Abel Motorsports ended up fastest in the session with a 98.830 on lap 11 of the 15 that he turned. He was closely followed by Kyle Kirwood and 33 Dreams Podcast participant, Kory Enders in 3rd. Rasmus Lindh settled for 7th.

Parker Thompson – Photo Credit – Road to Indy

Race 1 – Qualifications

Once the session truly got underway after a red flag for Charles Finelli, Sting Ray Robb with Juncos Racing turned the fastest lap at 100.502 mph to take the pole position for race one.

Sting Ray Robb takes the pole for race 1 at Laguna Seca – Photo Credit Road to Indy

Not only was this a great result for Robb, but it was also helpful to his teammate Rasmus Lindh in the championship battle because it denied Kyle Kirkwood a bonus point for taking the pole. Kirkwood was hot on Robb’s pace and will finish second. Lindh will start 3rd.

Parker Thompson backed up his fast speed in practice with a 4th place qualifying performance, edging out teammate Jacob Abel.

Artem Petrov, Phillippe Denes, Danial Frost, Kory Enders, and Nikita Lastochkin round out the top 10 of 15 cars that will take the green on Saturday.

Saturday will feature Qualification Session 2 along with the race at 7:10 Eastern.