Honda Leads Manufacturer Championship heading into Gateway

by The Earl of Indy, Robert Earl |

Through 14 races in the 2019 NTT IndyCar Series, there have been a total of 42 possible podium finishing positions. A podium finish counts the First, Second, and Third place finisher. Honda has claimed 27 of the 42 possible podium finishes and has an 89-point lead in the Series Manufacturers? Championship. Honda currently leads with 1,231 points, compared to Chevrolet with 1,142.

How are Series Manufacturers? Championship earned?

When the race is finished, the points earned by the top two cars for each manufacturer (Honda and Chevrolet) are recorded using the same points system that is used for the driver’s championship.

Take the ABC Supply 500 at Pocono for an example. Chevrolet took the 1st position with Will Power (50 points + 5 points for winning) and also took 3rd with Simon Pagenaud (35 points) for a total of 90. Honda was lead by Scott Dixon in 2nd (40 points) and Santino Ferrucci in 4th (32 points) for a total of 72. So Chevrolet cut into the Honda lead, trimming the margin to 89 points.

The Series is also looking at engine reliability as part of the equation for awarding points. A car is not eligible to receive manufacturer points if it is using its fifth engine (or more) of the season. If that is the case, points are awarded based on the finish of the next highest eligible car for that manufacturer. IndyCar tracks this number throughout the year and determines the awarded points accordingly.

Credit: IndyCar Series – Joe Skibinski

Other points included in the Series Manufacturers? Championship

For races that actually have a pole position competition, other than Indy, one point is awarded to the engine manufacturer that qualifies in the pole position. At Indy the points double to two for the pole position.

As an added bonus for winning, the 1st place finisher is awarded five bonus points.

At Indy, one point is awarded to the engine manufacturer that is the fastest on the first day of Indianapolis 500 qualifying. (Chevrolet in 2019)

Per, Additional bonus points are available to manufacturers for an engine that meets the 2,000-mile threshold during the Indianapolis 500. A one-time bonus equal to the number of manufacturer points scored in the Indianapolis 500 will be awarded.

Previous Series Manufacturers? Championship Winners:

  • 2018: Honda
  • 2017: Chevrolet
  • 2016: Chevrolet
  • 2015: Chevrolet
  • 2014: Chevrolet
  • 2013: Chevrolet
  • 2012: Chevrolet
  • 2006-2011: Not Awarded
  • 2005: Honda
  • 2004: Honda
  • 2003: Toyota
  • 2002: Chevrolet
  • 2001: Oldsmobile
  • 2000: Oldsmobile
  • 1999: Oldsmobile
  • 1998: Oldsmobile
  • 1997: Oldsmobile

With the lead, Honda is looking to make it back to back Manufacturers? Championships in 2019.